A Letter to My Kids

Advice on creativity and following your dreams.

Agents of Change
5 min readJan 8, 2021
Photo credit: Shutterstock

By Wayne David Hubbard, Jr.

One December day, five years ago, I found two notes on my writing desk. The notes were from my daughter and son. They were 6 years old and 9 years old at the time. They had questions for me, their father.

They wanted to know who I am and why I enjoy the things I do. I responded with a heartfelt letter of my own. It is one of the most favorite things I have ever written, and I shared it in the past with friends. Reliving that memory, I thought I would share:

The first note read:

Dear Dad,

You are the best chess player I know. I wonder if you like your work.

Love,
Daughter

The second note read:

Dear Dad,

Why do you like planes? Do you like writing? Why do you like writing? Sometimes I like how you are creative. What are some way you [can] be creative?

Love,
Son

My response to them on December 15, 2015:

Dear Son and Daughter,

I am writing this letter to you in response to the notes you left on my writing desk.

--

--

Agents of Change

A collaborative effort between “agents of change,” Good Men Media, Inc. and Connection Victory Publishing Company. AgentsOfChange@ConnectionVictory.com